main content starts here

Congratulations, 2017 Legislative Art Show artists!

Filed in Archive by on March 30, 2017

The work of two dozen BC student artists was on display this week at the Legislative Office Building in Albany, where state legislators, staff and visitors got to enjoy some of the best artwork by students K-12 from across New York State.

Bethlehem art educators selected the outstanding art work for the 27th annual New York State Art Teachers Legislative Student Art Exhibit in celebration of Youth Art Month.

“Every art teacher in the Bethlehem School District selected two works of art to enter in this exhibit,” said District Art Supervisor Melanie Painter. “It is a great honor for these students to be representing our schools’ art programs at this special event.”

Painter said many students and their families attended an Artist’s Reception on Wednesday, March 29 at the Legislative Office Buildling where they were greeted by New York State Assemblymember Patricia Fahy and State Senator Neil D. Breslin.  

“Legislators, art educators and other young artists from across New York State had an opportunity to view their work,” said Painter. “These students and their art are a wonderful reflection of our art department and the school district.”

The work of the following students was selected for display at this year’s Legislative Student Art Exhibit:

Elsmere Elementary – Ms Fortin

  • Laynie Shersky

Eagle Elementary – Ms. Buckley

  • Hayden Ossias
  • Samantha Grossman

Glenmont Elementary – Ms. Adams

  • Eliana Marino
  • Andrew Toomey

Slingerlands Elementary – Ms. Sieme

  • Ava Austin
  • Sandy Levin

Hamagrael Elementary – Ms. Fortin

  • Henry Castagna

Middle School – Mr. Ruggiero/Ms. Forman

  • Eric Jestel
  • Emma Chaney
  • Caitlin Dubin
  • Maia Lemov

High School

  • Grace Rocklein (Ms. Hahn)
  • Shaquile Parker (Ms. Hahn)
  • Nicholas DeFazio (Ms. Prezio)
  • Xavier Wakefield (Ms. Segal)
  • Kiley Patterson (Ms. Segal)
  • Nicole Lee (Ms. Martin)
  • Annika Rowe (Ms. Martin)
  • Sabina Berry (Ms. Caron)
  • Elise Coton (Ms. Caron)
  • Ariel McBride (Ms. Prezio)
  • Eden Weinstein (Ms. Painter)
  • Duncan Homer (Ms. Painter)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.