main content starts here

Spring athletes honored by Board of Education

Filed in Archive, District by on August 12, 2019

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Wednesday, August 9, student-athletes who competed last spring and had qualified for state-level competition were honored by the Bethlehem Central Board of Education.

For the 2018-19 school year, the district’s athletics program was awarded the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) School of Excellence Award. The award is for a program where more than 90 percent of varsity athletic teams achieved Scholar-Athlete status, with team members having an academic average above 90%. Every BC team in spring 2019 — baseball, softball, boys lacrosse, girls lacrosse, and boys and girls track and field — were named Scholar-Athlete teams by NYSPHSAA.

Congratulations to our student-athletes!

Girls Varsity Lacrosse

Section II Class AA champions; Regional champions; NYS semifinalists

  • Lindsay Ayres
  • Amy Burdick
  • Elizabeth Chiarella
  • Damla Cicek
  • Jennifer Colabufo
  • Avery Daggett
  • Sophie Glassman
  • Piper Gregory
  • Paige Halliday
  • Mae Healy
  • Julia Hewison
  • Lindsey Isenberg
  • Avery Jones
  • Brynn Jones
  • Kathryn Kirby
  • Amanda Koch
  • Sophia Koch
  • Mary Macdonald
  • Ashlyn McGrath
  • Kiersten Murray
  • Lauren Riker
  • Emma Sinuc
  • Ella Stewart
  • Caroline Wise

Coach: Dani Blanchard

Boys Varsity Tennis

Section 2 Class AA champions; Undefeated season; Doubles team state qualifier

  • Michael Bievenue
  • William Bievenue
  • Quinn Brandon
  • Matthew Brockley
  • Hayden Brown
  • Owen Bryant
  • Jack Burman
  • Govind Chari*
  • Noah Degroult-Elias
  • Justus Demarest
  • Lleyton Emery*
  • Zachary Hadjin
  • Graham Hardiman
  • Andrew Iwanowicz
  • Henry Kopplin
  • Kevin Lin
  • Andrew Luntz
  • Ashrith Rao
  • Ethan Royka
  • Adam Wilson
  • Michae Xie
  • Tao Xie

*competed in New York state quarterfinals of doubles championship at U.S. Tennis Center

Coach: Steve Smith

Boys Track and Field

  • Matthew Cavaliere: State qualifier in 1600 m
  • Matt Levasalmi: Section 2 champion pole vault

Coach: Darnell Douglas

Boys Lacrosse

  • Declan Ferris, U.S. Lacrosse All American
  • Liam Ferris, U.S. Lacrosse All American
  • Ben Reilly, U.S. Lacrosse All American

Coach: Dave Rounds