main content starts here

Transportation Department awards year’s highest honors

Filed in Archive, District, District News by on June 13, 2019

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Congratulations to BC bus driver Patrick McCormick and bus attendant Nick DeMuth, who were honored Tuesday, June 12 as Employees of the Year by the Bethlehem Central School District Transportation Department. The two were recognized after they sprung into action earlier this year when they spotted a young girl walking in the middle of a busy road, on the yellow line, while cars were zipping past. Their teamwork and quick thinking were credited with helping to save the girl’s life.

The Employee of the Year award was presented to McCormick and DeMuth at the department’s year-end luncheon.

The duo was also honored last month by the New York Association for Pupil Transportation (NYAPT). See more on the NYAPT award here:

The Transportation Luncheon also celebrated employees from the department who had retired or are retiring as part of the 2018-19 school year and others who were celebrating safety milestones.

Six employees were recognized for perfect attendance during the school year. They are:

  • Holly Wilkie, Bus Driver
  • James Kubisch, Bus Driver
  • Jasmine Mathews, Bus Attendant
  • Robert Leonard, Bus Driver
  • Sean Simpson, Bus Driver
  • Todd Winne, Bus Driver

Congratulations to all and thank you for all you do for our BC students!