BC educators honored for exceptional commitment to social studies

Two Bethlehem Central School District educators were honored May 15 by the the Capital District Council for the Social Studies for their exceptional work inside and outside the classroom. 

High school teacher Preya Krishna-Kennedy was presented with the Robert Neiderberger Educator Award. The award recognizes educators who have achieved in social studies education in an exceptional way.

Krishna-Kennedy has been a social studies teacher in the district for 28 years and is a longtime faculty advisor for Students for Peace and Survival (SPAS). The high school club raises awareness of social issues impacting local and global communities and hosts fundraisers to combat poverty and hunger, including the popular Empty Bowls fundraiser. This year, SPAS raised $1,000 for the Regional Food Bank of Northeastern New York and $1,000 for Capital Roots, which is committed to providing access to affordable fresh food and green spaces for Capital Region residents.

The district’s K-12 social studies supervisor Nick Petraccione was awarded the Capital District Council for the Social Studies Service Award. Petraccione earned the award for his unwavering dedication to the field of social studies. Petraccione will be retiring in June after 20 years in the district and 32 years in education.

The Council provides continuing education opportunities for social studies teachers and provides resources needed for the refinement of social studies education in grades K-12. The group also connects social studies teachers across 11 counties throughout the greater Capital Region. BC teacher Tom Michalek is the current president of the Capital District Council for the Social Studies.

Attending the May 15 ceremony were two previous award winners from the Bethlehem Central School District, teachers Annie Baker and Kristen Burns. Baker and Burns and several other BC social studies teachers were there to cheer on this year’s award winners. 

Congratulations to Ms. Krishna-Kennedy and Mr. Petraccione!